top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVanessa Lam

Frühlingsfest in Munich

Luca and I visited our German friend, Thies! We know Thies because he studied abroad at the high school Luca and I went attended. All three of us became close at the end of me and Luca's junior year of high school. We haven't seen him in four years so visiting him was so nice!


The first day, we ate great local German food. I had schnitzel for the first time and it was so yummy! It reminded me of Asian katsu, just a different flavor. Thies had his last day of work at an ice cream stand. Luca and I sat there for 3 hours just people watching and eating ice cream.


Friday, we went into the city. Thies toured us around, showing us significant buildings. Then we found a shop to buy me a dirndl, the traditional dress that girls wear at Frühlings/Oktoberfest. I found the perfect dress that's green and magenta. It was 50 euros but so worth it! We then rushed home to change and head to Frühlingsfest. We easily got into the first tent at the fest, where I met Thies friends and played some card drinking games. We then moved onto the second tent, where the party is. It was a struggle getting into this tent though. We all split up and snuck our way into this tent. I went under some ropes and ran into the tent. Once getting in, I found Luca and Thies. We all snuck in and somehow all got in at the same time. We then found a table, where we stayed the rest of the night. We danced and drank the night away.


Saturday was very uneventful, as Luca was extremely hungover. Saturday was our recovery day.


Sunday was Thies' 20th birthday and we had reservations at the fest, meaning we had reserved tables and vouchers. We started drinking at 4pm until 11 pm. I finished my first mugs of beer and didn't mind it! It was a really fun time since I knew more people this day. We all had a great time celebrating Thies' 20th birthday at the fest.



27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page